top of page

Psalm 23 - God comforts

Two family members each in a different hospital, both in Intensive Care Units, each on the verge of death; her mom and her husband. Helplessness, unrivaled pain, and numbness overwhelm her as she sits alone in her car in the hospital parking lot. Her strength has ebbed. Her ability to talk, walk, or take action does not exist. She is left with deep heart wrenching sobs as her heart is torn apart.

Knowing that nothing she can do will change what is happening, she interiorly calls out to God! God comforts her as He sees her pain. He knows her anguish. He hears her silent prayer. He answers.

She hears in her heart: "Psalm 23"

Rather than comfort, hearing this intensifies her pain. She knows that Psalm 23 is associated with funerals! Calling on a friend she asks, "Will my husband die?, Will my mom die?" Both frightening questions crush her heart as

she fears the worst.

Psalm 23, a psalm of David (NIV)

1 The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing. 2 He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters, 3 he refreshes my soul. He guides me along the right paths for his name’s sake. 4 Even though I walk through the darkest valley,[a] I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.

This true story carries a message from God. While it was true that either or both of her family members may die, Psalm 23 was not answering those questions. As her friend pointed out, "Psalm 23 was a reassurance that God would be with her, He would love her, He would support her, and even carry her if necessary through life's events." She never has to face life alone. She just has to call out to Him, whether that be out loud or in the silence of her heart, and He will show her His everlasting love, the love of the Father.

God will mend our broken heart

God does not promise that life will be free of hard times. There are times that will be extremely difficult throughout our lives. He does promise that we never have to walk alone. He promises that He will never leave us. It is for us to call out to Him, using our free will, accepting Him into

our everyday lives.

bottom of page